What Sentences Are Imposed for Transit Robbery in Los Angeles?
Four named transit-robbery defendants have reported jail/probation or prison outcomes in three related case files. Smith and Flowers share BA421141; Brackens and Ammons have separate file numbers within the same party-crew investigation. Different robbery degrees, a hammer allegation and Smith’s two-count total prevent a uniform numerical range. Separate file numbers alone do not certify three independent qualifying incident clusters.
Quick Answer
- Named defendant outcomes: 4
- Outcome types: county jail plus probation; state prison
- City connection: robberies of transit passengers in Los Angeles
- System: California state/local prosecution
- Important limitation: related investigation; not an independent citywide sample
Visit the Los Angeles sentence hub, compare assault-with-a-deadly-weapon outcomes and the separately labeled federal armed-robbery guide, and review our methodology and editorial standards.
How California Classifies Transit Robbery
California Penal Code §211 defines robbery. Penal Code §212.5 makes robbery of a passenger on a bus, rail vehicle, or other listed vehicle used to transport people for hire first-degree robbery; other robbery is generally second degree unless another first-degree category applies. The conviction degree in the court record matters.
Statutory Sentence
Penal Code §213 generally provides three, four, or six years for first-degree robbery outside the special in-concert inhabited-dwelling category, and two, three, or five years for second-degree robbery. Weapon enhancements, prior convictions, multiple counts, probation eligibility, and other California sentencing laws can change the final outcome. These statutory terms are not the observed outcomes below.
Reported Outcomes
| Defendant | Reported conviction | Reported sentence | Comparability note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Shabritney Ammons | Robbery, no-contest plea | More than 8 months in county jail and 5 years of probation | Degree and exact count allocation not stated in the release |
| QMariae Brackens | Robbery, no-contest plea | 1 year in county jail and 5 years of probation | Separate case number; degree not stated |
| Lelon Flowers | Second-degree robbery with admitted deadly-weapon allegation | 3 years in state prison | Target conviction and weapon allegation stated |
| Johnshenae Smith | One first-degree and one second-degree robbery count, no-contest plea | 10 years in prison | Aggregate outcome across two robbery degrees |
Case Context
The release dated January 13, 2015, despite its “011314” filename, reports the preceding day’s pleas and immediate sentences: January 12, 2015. Smith received ten years for one first-degree and one second-degree robbery count; Flowers received three years after pleading to second-degree robbery and admitting use of a hammer. Both belong to BA421141, not two independent prosecutions. The reported January 20, 2014 conduct involved a train-station attack and a Red Line train attack about twenty minutes later; the station is not precisely identified.
Brackens’s BA424025 outcome was one year in county jail plus five years’ probation; Ammons’s BA426523 outcome was more than eight months in county jail plus five years’ probation. The source says both were sentenced “in October,” without a precise date. Three additional unnamed defendants each received a year in county jail plus five years’ probation; they are not added as named examples or independent clusters. Jail and probation are not combined as years in prison, and the release does not allocate Smith’s total between robbery counts.
Why These Outcomes Should Not Be Flattened Into One Range
The cases include different robbery degrees, a weapon allegation, multiple counts, and different custody types. They also arise from a related investigation. A simple lowest-to-highest prison range would conceal those differences and overstate the sample’s independence.
Methodology
The full relevant two-page official release and current sections 211, 212.5 and 213 were actually read September 28, 2026. Four named defendants, three related case files and qualifying independent clusters are different counts. Source-described Los Angeles transit conduct is not independent municipal-point certification. Degrees/allocation for the two jail dispositions and exhaustive later review remain unverified; this is a selected historical comparison, not a typical sentence or release-date prediction. State/local records remain separate from federal robbery.
Sources
Disclaimer
General information only, not legal advice. California robbery sentencing depends on degree, enhancements, record, plea, and case-specific facts.